Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Next Post Loading...


I should preface this post by stating that I have very little knowledge of the inner workings of video game design and don’t have a clue why some games need longer load times than others. Alls I knows is there’s something ridiculous going on inside my PS3 whenever I play Modnation Racers.

Before picking it up, I read several reviews, as I normally do. They unanimously agreed the long loading time was an issue but passed it off as a minor compliant. Forums were then flooded with worried gamers concerned that this would be a deal breaker. Editorials soon followed to reassure them that this was indeed a minor compliant and wouldn’t take away from the overall experience that is Modnation Racers. The developer even got into the mix with a press release. “No worries Kart Lovers, there’s a patch in the works.” Being the trusting gamer that I am, I was satisfied and comfortable in the knowledge that if it isn’t a problem for the experts than it wouldn’t be one for me either.

Well, the game finally hit the shelves last week, and I’m very sorry to say THE LOADING SUCKS!

Surprisingly, the duration isn’t the only problem. When you add the frequency and design of the load screens, you are left with the worst loading experience I’ve ever had in all my years of gaming. That’s a bold statement I know, but allow me to explain.

http://www.pmsclan.com/photos/msg1.jpg

Long load times alone can be frustrating, but when you couple them with poor design choices, it becomes down right insulting. There are numerous examples of how developers employ a little creativity to mask their load lag. While it’s a common practice to display tips and ‘did you know’ type facts, Fallout 3 (2008) added your own personal stats to appeal to its RPG fanbase. Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots (2008), quite possibly the worst offender for load times, took what would be an excruciating wait and inserted its own brand of self-reflexive comedy. Not only does this make the time pass faster, but it also fits in thematically with the in-game experience.

http://icons.mysitemyway.com/wp-content/gallery/whitewashed-star-patterned-icons-arrows/130323-whitewashed-star-patterned-icon-arrows-arrow-circle-refresh.png

MNR on the other hand, thought the cliché refresh circle with a load percentage in the center would be a good choice. And no, they didn’t put it in the bottom corner. It’s unavoidably smack dab in the middle of the screen. The percentage counter hurts me the most though. Reminds me of downloading demos on my parent’s 14.4 modem. It’s nothing more than a reminder of how slow it is. Simply terrible!

All my above complaints could be considered minor if you didn’t take the frequency into account. MNR has a load screen when you start the game, when you enter race, when you finish a race, when you start another race. It’s like a friggin load screen parade. What’s worse, each race only lasts a few minutes. You might be in need of a break if you were playing for an hour straight, but that’s not the case.

I know loading is a necessary evil, but all I want is for the developers to be little bit more creative. If they can’t shorten the load times, than they should make the wait more bearable. It’s the least they could do.

No comments:

Post a Comment