Saturday, June 26, 2010

My perfect E3 2010 Results


http://static.family.go.com/images/cms/education/featured/child-test-240-j-4837624.jpg

E3 ended over a week ago, and since the dust has finally settled, I thought it would be a good time to revisit My Perfect E3 2010 post. Lets see if this year’s E3 measured up to my expectations.

1) The Move: Sony will announce at least one motion control game that makes my pants tight. In other words, they will give me a reason to buy the damn things. Also, pricing will be announced, and it will be affordable.

http://www.decodeunicode.org/en/u+00bd/data/glyph/196x196/00BD.gif Please don’t laugh when I say this, but the two Move games I’m most excited about are Heavy Rain and Dead Space Extraction. SOCOM4 and Killzone 3 might be sellers as well, but I’m pretty sure I’m gonna give The Move a go. Fingers Crossed! Pricing-wise, its not exactly affordable, so I’m going to give this one half points.

2) Valve: Those crybabies at Valve will say something remotely positive about the PS3. Comments about its user base don’t count.

http://www.shadeland-kia.com/preowned/img/checkmark.jpg Talk about nail on the friggin head. Gabe said the PS3 was ‘the most open console.’ Did they have a knife to his back? It made it seem like his previous PS3 bashing was just a setup for this E3 appearance. In any case, Steam for the PS3 is huge… but where’s my Left 4 Dead?

http://scrawlfx.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/dead-nation-trailer.jpg

3) Zombies: I love zombies, and I love the PS3. E3 will show me a PS3 zombie game that’s worth buying. Whether it’s Dead Rising 2, a Left 4 Dead port, or something completely new, I want to have fun killing zombies before 2010 is over.

http://www.shadeland-kia.com/preowned/img/checkmark.jpg No new zombie game or Left 4 Dead announcements, and I’m not completely sold on Dead Rising 2 yet, but all hope is not yet lost. A little game that I almost forgot about reared its bloody head. Dead Nation is looking pretty nice I have to say. Here’s to future zombie killing on the PS3.

3) Big Non-Japanese PSP game: Will Sony show off a non-Japanese PSP game that proves to be a big deal? In my perfect world they will! Uncharted PSP anyone?

http://www.shadeland-kia.com/preowned/img/checkmark.jpg Uncharted PSP didn’t happen, but I somehow forgot about another non-Japanese PSP game when I wrote this. Newsflash: Anything with God of War in the title is indeed a ‘big deal.’ Stupid Carcus!

5) PSP2: A lot of insiders have been talking about the PSP2 lately, so I’d be surprised if it’s not announced, but at my E3, the PSP2 will not only have advanced graphics it will also be a phone.

http://trifilliatepayday.com/earlyaccess/images/CheckMarkX.jpg Sadly, no PSP2. I guess Sony didn’t want their consumers to get hardware fatigue and decided to focus on 3D and The Move instead. Its understandable, but they’re gonna need a hardware upgrade pretty soon to compete with Apple products.

http://gamerant.com/wp-content/uploads/playstation-plus-subscription-service-ps3.jpg

6) PSN Premium Service: Very simple here. Sony will make this worthwhile. Lots of firm commitments and very few ambiguities.

http://www.shadeland-kia.com/preowned/img/checkmark.jpg Done and Done! Surprisingly, Sony laid out all the details. Nothing wishy washy about it. Essentially, we get game trials, early demos and betas, automatic downloads, Playstaion Store discounts, and new free games and goodies every month. I personal love surprises, so I can’t wait to see what they come up with month to month.

7) Teasers: There will be teasers for 2 brand new games and at least 2 of the following games: Agent, Uncharted 3, Syphon Filter, Twisted Metal, or GTA V (god help me.)

http://trifilliatepayday.com/earlyaccess/images/CheckMarkX.jpg My apologies, this one was a little vague. I should’ve said 2 brand new games that interest me. Lets see… I can’t think of any teasers for brand new games. It seemed like everything was announced pre-E3, and the only game even mentioned on this list, Twisted Metal, whipped out a full live stage demo. No points here.

8) Gameplay Trailers: We will see gameplay trailers for 5 of the following: Infamous 2, Resistance 3, Crysis 2, Castlevania: Lords of Shadows, MGS: Rising, new GOW PSP, Resident Evil PSP, or Last Guardian.

http://www.shadeland-kia.com/preowned/img/checkmark.jpg We got awesome new gameplay trailers for Infamous 2, Crysis 2, Castlevania: LOS, MGS: Rising and a teaser for the new GOW PSP. I guess that’s close enough.

9) Live On Stage Demos: How about this? Littlebigplanet 2, SOCOM 4, and Killzone 3. Safe I know.

http://www.shadeland-kia.com/preowned/img/checkmark.jpg The Sony press conference had live on-stage demos of LBP 2 and KZ3 and a playable demo of SOCOM 4 on the show floor. That deserves a point in my eyes.

10) 3D: Sony will finally admit that 3D is a bad idea and will devote their time and resources into something people actually care about.

http://trifilliatepayday.com/earlyaccess/images/CheckMarkX.jpg Nope!

http://members.cox.net/penguin-king/SlyCooper.gif

11) Something Old: PSN will start offering PS2 titles for download. There will be several Blu-ray HD rerelease collections confirmed.

http://trifilliatepayday.com/earlyaccess/images/CheckMarkX.jpg I’m sorry to say there won’t be any PS2 titles available on PSN just yet, and the Sly Cooper Collection doesn’t count as ‘several Blu-ray HD rerelease collections.’ Where the f@$k is ICO! No point.

12) Something Borrowed: Sony fans will get something that belonged to Microsoft. Whether its Bungie’s new game or (Please God!) Mass Effect, it will be a great feeling.

http://trifilliatepayday.com/earlyaccess/images/CheckMarkX.jpg Nothing! No Mass Effect, no Left 4 Dead, and no Bungie game. Nothing!

http://utgames.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/steam.jpg

13) Something Big: I want to crap my pants in excitement at least once. Is that too much to ask?

http://www.shadeland-kia.com/preowned/img/checkmark.jpg There were a few things that got my turtlehead a’pokin. Games like Dead Space 2, Killzone 3, Crysis 2, and Rage blew my mind, but what made my shorts really heavy was the Portal 2 announcement. You may think ‘Portal 2, what’s so big about that?’ Well its not so much the game itself, but the doors it will open. With PS3 Steam Works support, Valve may not only release all their future games for the platform, but also their existing titles as well. Wink Wink!

So how did E3 2010 measure up? If you weren’t counting, E3 2010 got 7.5 out of 13. That’s 58%. My general impression would’ve been a lot higher than that, but numbers don’t lie.

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Mystery Bin Dip Challenge

http://sparkboxshow.com/main/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/bargain-bin.gif


Ahhh…. The video game bargain bin. Home of the misfit games no longer worthy of shelf space. Are they yesterday’s favourites or today’s garbage? Hidden gems or stinky dog turds? Underrated rarities or lessons in agonizing torture? No matter how you look at it, bargain bins are a point of interest for every frugal gamer scrounging for a deal, but what happens when you throw caution to the wind and do the old bargain bin dip BLIND? That’s exactly what Mr. B and I decided to find out when we came up with this challenge. This has the potential to be a rather unpleasant experience, but I guess that’s what makes it a challenge.



A couple days ago, Mr. B and I, trotted our arses over to the local video game store. We were a little nervous but generally optimistic. The plan was for each of us to pick a game out of the bargain bin without looking, flip a coin, and then both buy a copy of the winning title. That way we’d both experience the potential bliss and/or suffering said game would provide. Before doing so, we had to first lay down some ground rules: It had to be under $20, it couldn’t be a game either of us had already played, and it couldn’t be a sports game (no one wants to play NHL 07.)


After we opened the door, we spotted the bin and dove right in. Mr. B picked Lego Indiana Jones: The Original Adventures, and I pulled out The Godfather II. Now for the coin toss:


http://i.neoseeker.com/boxshots/R2FtZXMvUGxheXN0YXRpb25fMy9BY3Rpb24vU2hvb3Rlcg==/the_godfather_ii_frontcover_large_4raR5aSyYxMzPgn.jpg Vs http://www.crowdstorm.co.uk/upload/images/product/262/PID526261HT4ge4x2L.jpg


And the winner is….


http://i.neoseeker.com/boxshots/R2FtZXMvUGxheXN0YXRpb25fMy9BY3Rpb24vU2hvb3Rlcg==/the_godfather_ii_frontcover_large_4raR5aSyYxMzPgn.jpg


I have to admit that I was a little relieved but still not exactly excited about the victor. As I recall, it received mixed but mostly mediocre reviews upon its release. Apart from the rumor that it had a copious amount of topless women, it didn’t make much of an impression on me, but this is a challenge after all.



Mr. B and I have since recruited two others to join in on the challenge and are planning on blogging about our individual experiences. This will also be a topic of discussion on our very first My Bloody Sandbox Podcast, so be sure to check back for updates.


I’d also like to encourage anyone else who’d like to take part to do so. Comment on the blog or send me an email with your impressions of the game. mybloodysandbox@gmail.com Think of it as Oprah’s book club but for video game nerds.


Good Luck!

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

The Yellow Light of Devron


http://hg101.kontek.net/ylod.jpg

This post is a shout-out to my buddy Devron. The PS3 yellow light of death was no match for this daddy. He spent his very first Father's Day disassembling his PS3 and performed the infamous heat gun re-flow method. With no previous training or experience in electronics repair, this took some serious balls, and I'm happy to say that it worked.

As I understand it, the yellow light of death is most often caused by overheating. When the PS3 overheats the solder loosens and causes the graphics chip to separate from the motherboard. When you try to turn the unit on, the red light blinks yellow then shuts off… hence the name.



You can find several video walkthroughs online, but the fix process roughly involves stripping the unit down to its motherboard so you can heat up the solder with a heat gun. After the solder is magically reset, you have to reapply thermal compound on the chips and then reassemble. Sounds easy, but this took hours. Tons of little screws and ribbons to reconnect.

So, if you heard about this process but were wondering if it actually works, you can take my word for it that it does. I’m an eyewitness.

Congratulations Devron, and welcome back.

Thursday, June 17, 2010

Challenge No. 1 Update / The Lost And Damned Post Mortem


http://thekaoseffect.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/gta4.jpg


I’d like the to thank The Lost and Damned for all that it has given me. It gave me more GTA IV, stable motorcycles that are actually fun to drive, sawed-off shotguns, my very first gaming experience with full frontal male nudity, and, best of all, checkpoints. Its funny how something so simple as a checkpoint can make a gaming experience so much more enjoyable. Even if you don’t fail a mission, it’s a good feeling knowing that if you do, you wont have to drive halfway across the map to get back into the action. For the first time, I played through an entire GTA game without any serious frustration. This is partly due to its length (I finished it in under 8 hours), but also because I believe it was designed to be less frustrating than its predecessors. This doesn’t mean less difficult necessarily only less frustrating. Big difference.


TLAD was a tight little GTA experience that should be played directly after GTAIV. There are tons of obvious crossover plot points as well as subtle reverences to the main game. You also get to see what else went on in Liberty City while Niko was doing his thing. I can’t wait to play through The Ballad of Gay Tony to get the remaining piece of the puzzle.


http://xbox360media.gamespy.com/xbox360/image/article/947/947219/grand-theft-auto-iv-the-lost-and-damned-20090121081903117_640w.jpg


Sadly, Johnny is no Niko. I spent the first half of the game wanting to run his bike off the road. Spoiler Alert! Johnny isn’t happy with the way Billy is running the gang. Why doesn’t he just take out a billboard? A little heavy on the exposition to say the least!


It may seem like I’m making some serious strides with this challenge, but the real work hasn’t even started.


How about that list:


Grand Theft Auto (PS1)

Grand Theft Auto: London (PS1)

Grand Theft Auto 2 (PS1)

Grand Theft Auto 3 (PS2)

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (PS2)

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PSP)

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP)

Grand Theft Auto IV: Ballad of Gay Tony (PS3)


…Do you think my wife would let me buy a motorcycle?

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

My Bloody Playstation E3 Press Conference Notes

http://playstationlifestyle.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/playstation-logo.png

Now that was a show. They brought it all. It had big surprises, loads of amazing games, new tech demos, and even comic relief, and Sony really knows how to rock a sizzle reel. They’re more emotional than informative, but completely effective. Take note Microsoft!

I know I was sold a butt load of PS hype, but I’m seriously pumped about what Sony has to offer. However, it wasn’t perfect. No news on Resistance 3, Last Guardian, or Agent was a big letdown. I just hope they’re saving these for the next big event. Here are my notes:

New Marketing Strategy: They bragged that the PS3 is the only console with something for everyone. After seeing Microsoft’s focus on causal gaming, this statement made me more than a little nervous.

3D: “Sony is the leader in 3D and the PS3 is the only console that offers…. Blah blah blah.” I don’t care what you say. I’m not buying a new TV or those stupid glasses.

Killzone 3 Screenshot

Killzone 3: This looked absolutely jaw dropping. So did Killzone 2 for that matter. This one has me all hot and bothered I have to admit. Jetpacks people! I’m curious about the Move support as well.

PS2: It isn’t dead yet, but apparently only worth 2 minutes of stage time… moving on.

http://cdn3.afterdawn.fi/v3/news/playstation-move-01.jpg

Playstation Move: Right off the bat, they said they’re making Move products to please both causal and core gamers, and thank god for that. With a few exceptions, most of the Move games shown didn’t interest me that much, but I’m excited about their direction and optimistic about its potential. Although I’m not a golfer, I thought the Tiger Woods demo was particularly impressive. Pricing wise it may be a little on the high side. We’re talking about $110 for the PSeye, wand, and sub controller.

http://cache.gawkerassets.com/assets/images/9/2010/04/500x_kevin_butler_humility.jpg

Kevin Butler’s Speech: I love KB! I laughed my ass off and even cried a little. Thanks for the inspiring speech.

PSP: They gave us a new marketing campaign, a God of War teaser, and a promise of 70 new games by the end of the year. I loves me some GOW, but they were a little flat on the portable front. We’ll have to wait for the PSP2 a little bit longer kids.

Tester Season 2: Not sure why this made me happy, but it did.

PSN Video Service in Canada: Woot Woot! It’s about time. No more trips to Blockbuster for me.

http://www.videogamesblogger.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/littlebigplanet-painting-artwork.jpg

Littlebigplanet 2: I loved LBP1 and I’m sure I’m gonna love LBP2. The level creation tools looked a little daunting, but I’m sure people will do some crazy fun things even if I can’t figure them out.

Playstation Plus: The details flew by fast, so it was hard to pick them all out. The price was lower than I expected though, and I love free stuff, discounts, and surprises, so count me in.

Third Party Exclusives: I find exclusive add-on content for multi-platform games to be rather cruel, but that seems to be how the industry works these days, and it’s better to be on the inside I guess. Most notable was the Dead Space 2 LE Bundle with Dead Space Extraction. I’m drooling right now.

http://cache.gawker.com/assets/images/9/2009/09/500x_custom_1252855139272_valve_ceo_gabe_newell.jpg

Portal 2: This was a pants crapper. Gabe Newell said nice things about the PS3! Even though I predicted it, I still couldn’t believe it.

Final Fantasy XIV: I have neither any interest in nor hate for this game.

Gran Turismo 5: Auto-porn fans are now warming themselves up of November 2, 2010.

Infamous 2: Infamous was one of my favourite games from last year, and I have no doubt that the sequel will be even better. The trailer looked awesome.

Twisted Metal E3 2010 PS3

Twisted Metal: With one surprise left I was hoping it would be Agent, but Twisted Metal wasn’t unwelcome. I was excited to see what David Jaffe was working on. To be perfectly honest, I’m not completely sold on it yet; I’ll need to see a little more before I’m ready to jump in. It does look like it could be fun though.

So that’s it. Ridiculously long I know, but that’s because there was so much worthwhile content. Congratulations to Sony for the great show.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

My Bloody Nintendo E3 Press Conference Notes


http://buttonbasher.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/nintendo-2.jpg


There’s not much to say here. Nintendo don’t make games for me, and nor do they want to. Children and causal gamers are their bread and butter, and they know it. They’ve had a great deal of success with this demographic, so how could I criticize them for not hooking my interest. I’d rather let the kids have their fun.


http://cache.kotaku.com/assets/resources/2006/11/reggieprofile.jpg


Reggie did have a lot of smart things to say though. He started off by saying that technology is merely a tool, and good games are created when these tools are combined with good game design. (That’s a rough quote) This knowledge was surely lacking with the Kinect products showcased yesterday. He also pointed out the two biggest drawbacks to 3D home entertainment. It’s way too expensive, and the glasses are a joke. You hit the nail on the head Reggie. Much like the Kinect, it’s very unlikely that I’ll buy the Nintendo 3DS, but I’m happy the technology is out there.


And for all those who like those classic Nintendo characters, I’m sure you guys are over the moon with all the new stuff coming down the tubes. Have fun kids!

Monday, June 14, 2010

My Bloody XBOX 360 E3 Press Conference Notes

http://www.lockergnome.com/digged/files/2010/01/xbox360balllogolarge.jpg

Was the XBOX 360 press conference a joke? It was completely predictable without any big surprises, and it seems casual gaming has taken over. Here are my notes on the conference.

Call of Duty Map Packs are now 360 timed exclusives for the next two years. Like I needed another reason to stop playing that tired franchise. I’m officially out.

http://semibeta.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/5ce32d4e98p_mgsr.jpg.jpg

Kojima two years in a row? MGS: Rising looks like it might be amazing. Time will tell.

Nothing new for the hardcore: You get Gears of War 3, Halo Reach, and Fable 3. Big surprise. Gears admittedly looks stunning while Reach looked like white bread, and I hate fantasy RPGs.

http://image3.examiner.com/images/blog/replicate/EXID5427/images/kinect(1)(1).jpg

Kinect Multimedia: The wave and voice command options look awesome for non-game functionality. The chat isn’t anything new though.

ESPN on XBOX Live: Doesn’t interest me that much, but I could see how people would get pretty excited about this.

Kinect First Party Games: Can you say Wii? As much as people criticized the Move for copying the Wii controllers, this is down right shameless. Where is the meat? Nothing but casual garbage.

Kinect Third Party Games: Wii Fit… oh I mean Your Shape Fitness – zzzzzzzzzz. Dance Central – do they make games for me anymore? New Forza – welcome to auto porn.

XBOX 360 Slim: It has built-in Wifi… bout time!

http://lorriej.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/thumbsdown.jpg

Seriously, that was a steaming pile of crap. The Kinect is indeed an amazing piece of technology, but they'll have to come up with something worthwhile before I'll be impressed. If this is where gaming is going, I’m gonna start a new Blog.

Heavy Rain – The Taxidermist Post Mortem


http://thegamingliberty.com/wp-content/uploads/heavy_rain_chronicles_ttd.jpg


I played through Heavy Rain a few months back and completely fell in love with it. Now, the plot had some major holes and things didn’t quite add up at the end, but that didn’t change the fact that the overall experience knocked me on my ass. The suspense made me so anxious I would literally jump up and down in the middle of my living room. I guess that’s why I waited so long to play this piece of DLC. I just needed a little breather.


The Taxidermist is a prequel to the main game, and I believe it was originally intended as a gameplay test. It stars our favourite investigative reporter, Madison Paige, as she follows a lead on an Origami Killer suspect. Although the main game features way more frightening sequences with Madison in violent situations, this one still made me crap my pants. Getting chased by serial killers and rapists never gets old.


http://i.ytimg.com/vi/WYwngZeVS4M/0.jpg

Since this predates the main game, I’d bet this sequence inspired Madison’s encounter with that creepy doctor. Gives me cold shivers just thinking about it.

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Challenge No. 1 Update / GTA: Chinatown Wars Post Mortem


http://www.digitalbattle.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/gtachinatownwars.jpg

If GTA IV impregnated GTA 1, the offspring would probably look a lot like Chinatown Wars. Although this may sound incestuous, I assure you that this baby comes from good stock. In fact, I can say without hesitation that it was one of the best handheld games I’ve ever played. It proves that you can’t judge a game by the size of its pixels

http://www.pspworld.com/sony-psp/images/grand-theft-auto-chinatown-wars-screen.jpg

I have to admit that I wasn’t always sold on this game. When I first saw the screen shots and pre-release trailers, I dismissed it as a cheap back step for the franchise. It was originally released for the Nintendo DS for God’s sake! Why would I want to play a GTA game for kids? After a few months, it made its way to the PSP, and the reviews were good. It peeked my interest a little, but not enough for me to jump in. A few months later during Game of The Year awards season, this little game that could got a lot of coverage. Gamespot named it the handheld game of the year, and it was even nominated in non-handheld categories. Enough was enough. I had to see what all the fuss was about, and I’m glad I did.

http://radicaldigital.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/gta_chinatown_wars_032.jpg

You play as Huang, son of a Liberty City Triad leader. The game starts after Huang’s father is murdered. Some thugs jump you shortly after you arrive from Hong Kong and steal a very special sword you were supposed to deliver to your Uncle. In true GTA fashion, you have to steal, kill, and drive your ass off to get it back and find your father’s killer. The narrative is the one weak spot here, but it does its job well enough to tie the action together.

The gameplay is where this one really shines. Its no secret GTA games have a tendency to be repetitive and sometimes stale, but CTW takes a fresh approach. Since it was originally designed for the Nintendo DS, the developers took a great deal of creativity in designing the missions, and thankfully, this translated very well to the PSP. For the record, CTW taught me three different ways to hotwire a car.

So that’s two awesome games in a row. I fear the worst is yet to come. Wish me luck!

Here’s the updated list:

Grand Theft Auto (PS1)
Grand Theft Auto: London (PS1)
Grand Theft Auto 2 (PS1)
Grand Theft Auto 3 (PS2)
Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (PS2)
Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PSP)
Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP)
Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (PS3)

Thursday, June 10, 2010

If The PSPgo Was A Test, What Does This Mean For The PSP2?


http://playstationlifestyle.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/featureimage-psp-go-images.jpg


SCEE president and CEO Andrew House recently stated that the PSPgo was merely a test of consumer behaviour. Whether this is indeed the truth or a marketing ploy to deny failure, the result is bad news for all the UMD haters out there. In case you haven’t heard, the UMDless PSPgo was a bomb. Apparently, Sony wanted to see if consumers were interested in a more compact handheld that exclusively played downloadable content. In other words, were consumers willing to do away with physical media for handheld gaming? Mr. House’s comments give me the terrible feeling that the Go’s failure means that the next generation of handhelds will inherit some sort of UMD-like drive. It’s 2010 people! Time to move on I says.


I’m not saying the PSPgo should’ve been a success or that its failure is the result of a whole lot of UMD love. I personally have no idea what drives other consumers, but I know what I want, and I know there are other factors that caused its failure.


http://images.buycostumes.com/mgen/merchandiser/21667.jpg


Did I buy a PSPgo? No, but UMDs had nothing to do with it. I didn’t buy the Go for the same reason I didn’t buy the 3000. I already own a PSP 2000. Unfortunately for Sony, the added benefits didn’t justify the $250 price tag, and even if I didn’t own one, it would be a hard sell since its still $80 more than its UMD counterpart. This begs the question, if the PSPgo was a test of consumer behaviour, why did they price it out of contention? Its like they wanted it to fail.


About a year ago when the Go was first announced, there was a lot of talk about a UMD backup solution. Sadly, Sony didn’t delivery. What exactly did they want me to do with all my UMDs? As much as I’d like to rid myself of the format, I’m not buying games twice, and I don’t know anyone who would. This was a huge oversight and a deal breaker for many I’m sure.


http://thegamingliberty.com/wp-content/uploads/no-umd.jpg


So if I didn’t buy the PSPgo, I must prefer games on UMD rather than on a memory stick right? Wrong! I haven’t purchased a UMD since they relaunched the Playstation Store, and I can say that I’ll never buy another one as long as I have an option. UMDs are inconvenient, awkward, noisy, a battery drain, and an overall pain in the ass. I bought another 8GB memory stick and haven’t looked back.


It’s clear the PSPgo was doomed to fail from the start, but its not because people want or love UMDs. Sony, it’s time to move on, and what better time than with the launch of your ‘Next Gen’ handheld. Bring on the UMDless PSP2.